Provincial Judging Team 2010

The 2010 Provincial 4-H Judging Competition was held on August 20 ? 21 in Weyburn SK.  Judging teams from the six regional judging locations (Lloydminster, Prince Albert, Whitewood, Saskatoon, Swift Current and Weyburn) participated in this prestigious event.

Competitors arrived on Friday night for orientation, activities and a judging quiz.  The 36 4-H members in attendance also enjoyed a visit from the Saskatchewan 4-H Executive Director, Valerie Pearson. As well, competitors were treated to a speech by Rena Hordos, the Grand Aggregate at last year?s Canadian National 4-H & Youth Judging Competition, and recipient of a $2,500 scholarship.  Rena shared her experience with the group and provided a number of tips and suggestions for this year?s winners. Saturday?s activities consisted of competitors judging six species of animals including stock dogs, alpacas, beef heifers, bulls, light horse and market sheep. Members gave oral reasons on their placings for each species.  Saturday was topped off with an awards banquet where several special guests joined us, including MP Ed Komarnicki, MLA Dustin Duncan, SAASE Executive Director Glen Duck, and representatives from a variety of sponsors.

The final results of the competition were as follows:

1. Alicia Sopatyk, Prince Albert Team

2. Bevin Hamilton, Swift Current Team

3. Kelsey Paskell, Prince Albert Team

4. Megan Rogers, Whitewood Team

5. Nathan Trowell, Whitewood Team

6. Rosalynn Meyer, Swift Current Team

7. Cougen Pegg, Lloydminster Team

8. Brittany Jordet, Swift Current Team

9. Savannah Cheney, Swift Current Team
10. Erika Easton, Whitewood Team

Congratulations to our winning team! This team of eight will represent Saskatchewan 4-H at the Canadian National 4-H & Youth Judging Competition at Agribition on November 21 ? 23, 2010. Here, youth judges from across Canada and beyond compare and contrast species and test their judging abilities.

(Please note: Those who attended the event may notice a slight difference in placings ? this is due  to a miscalculation on a member?s card that was rectified after the event.)

Event Sponsors

A huge thank you to our sponsors Gordon Show Cattle;  Lomond 4-H Beef Club;  Milestone Co-op;  Milestone 4-H Variety Club;  SAASE;  Sandi Stewart;  Saskatchewan 4-H Council;  Sparkle Car Wash & Nimbus Water;  Weyburn Community 4-H Club;  Weyburn Curling Club;  Cenovus Energy;  Syngenta Crop Protection Canada Inc.;  E Bourassa & Sons Ltd.;  South Country Equipment Ltd.;  Meyers Norris Penny LLP;  Young?s Equipment Inc.;  RenGro Fertilizer Ltd.;  Prairie Animal Health Centre;  Weyburn Agricultural Society; Dairy Queen.

Recent Blog Articles

September 14, 2018
We want to hear from you - Complete our Survey!

August 31, 2018
4-H Saskatchewan is HIRING a Development Officer!

August 22, 2018
Winners of the 2018 4-H Saskatchewan Lottery announced

July 25, 2018
Press Release - Still time to buy 4-H Saskatchewan Lottery Tickets

June 13, 2018
Press Release - Charity Steer Brings In Donations for Rose Garden Hospice